Chocolate Chocolate Chocolate (Alternative)

I am lucky enough to have a guest post from my wonderful little sister today.. I alluded to this recipe in my last post and think you are all going to love it!!

Today is Overdose Awareness Day… Today I will be aware of the overdoses I committed throughout the last year.

My drug of choice: Chocolate.

Frequency of use: Daily

Dosage: Give me a block of chocolate and I’ll eat the whole thing.

My chocolate cravings usually kick in mid afternoon or right after dinner. I decided to stop buying chocolate “If I don’t buy it, I can’t eat it right?” WRONG! I’ll tear the house apart looking for anything that contains chocolate, if you find me in the baking cupboard eating chocolate button melts reserved for making cookies you’ll realise the psychological control this sugar-laden food has over me. Or had over me until I found something to replace it.

Now this recipe is genius, don’t for one moment think I’m going to give you anything less. As a child my mother tried to fool me into eating carob… I wouldn’t do such a thing to you!

Everything that goes into this recipe can be found at your local market, however a key ingredient that I believe makes it that much more amazing is Loving Earth Coconut Oil and you may have to do a little extra searching for this. You’ll find it at good health food stores and speciality food stores; I get mine at Leos in Kew along with lots of other delicious items.

You’ll need:

  • 80g         Raw Coconut Oil
  • 130g       Raw Almonds
  • 75g         Raw Cashews
  • 250g       Pitted Dried Dates
  • 65g         Desiccated Coconut
  • 40g         Organic Cocoa
  • ¼ tsp      Himalayan Pink Salt
  • 20g         Raw Honey

Place almonds and cashews in a food processer and wiz for a few seconds (you want it to be fine like almond meal but still with some small nutty bits). Set aside.

Place dates and coconut in food processor and wiz for 30 seconds.

Melt the coconut oil in a saucepan over a low heat until it is liquid, trying to keep from heating the oil more than is necessary. This will happen very quickly. If it is already liquid (ie in summer – this step isn’t necessary).

Now put all the ingredients into the food processor and wiz until it’s all combined. I like to add 6 drops of Young Living Peppermint Oil at this stage to create choc peppermint heaven but you are free to leave it out (or add other oils such as cinnamon bark, orange, tangerine or nutmeg) .

Put into a lined slice tin and pat down to create a flat surface, keeping the thickness around 1cm. Place in fridge to set and then cut into pieces to serve. (You could also roll it into balls and coat in cocoa powder, or make it into a log).

The great thing about this slice is everything in it is good for you so you won’t feel guilty eating it. I never thought I’d say this about anything, but it’s better than the real thing!

*I have converted the recipe to suit those who don’t have a Thermomix in their kitchen. I make this chocolate slice in the Thermo which is great for making sure you don’t heat the coconut oil too high, if anyone wants the recipe for creating this deliciousness in their BFF let me know and I’ll email it to you.

This is truly moorish and will keep your chocolate cravings satisfied.. Let me know if you try it! I’m eating it right now..
M xx
3 thoughts on “Chocolate Chocolate Chocolate (Alternative)

    • Peppermint tea thyme says:

      Sorry for the late reply honey! My sister said that the honey is used for the sweetness not the texture, therefore you could substitute it for golden syrup/maple syrup or other non fructose natural sweeteners. If you do try it, let us know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

