Chicken, Veggies and Quinoa with a difference

So i was looking back through my most recent posts and saw that the last was on Iron deficiency, the one before than on Vitamin D, and prior to that Vitamin E and do you know what I realised? That it has been ages since I posted a recipe!

So this one might come from left field but bear with me – I promise it’s tasty!

The inspiration for this recipe was due to a practical assessment I had to do for my Herbal Medicine for Manufacturing class last week. I had to research and prepare an ‘oxymel’ and present a case study detailing the uses for said oxymel. And I can hear you all going – What the hell is an oxymel?! Believe me, I said the same thing. It comes from the term Ox ‘y’ mel – meaning acid and honey, and in this case, vinegar and honey. It was traditionally used to mask the flavour of strong herbs, but vinegar and honey have some great qualities such as being preservatives and displaying antimicrobial and expectorant properties..

So what went in it?

To make my Oxymel I weighed the dry fennel and caraway seeds and pulsed them in the Thermomix to bruise them slightly. I then measured out and added the Apple Cider Vinegar and warmed the mixture for 5 minutes raising the temperature to 60°C to avoid boiling (this could easily have been done in a pot). I added the crushed garlic and allowed the mixture to steep for 2 hours before straining it and adding the honey. Quanities are below..

So what is this good for? In this case, it would be great for the common cold and associated cough as these herbs are antimicrobial (garlic and caraway), expectorant (garlic and fennel) and diaphoretic (garlic) – so what do these terms mean?

The diaphoretic constituents will assist the body to sweat and eliminate toxins from the system. The antimicrobial action directly targets the viral infection and assists in destroying the cause of the cold, and the expectorant properties assist the body to remove mucous from the respiratory system (Hoffman, 1998, pp. 37-38).

Anyway – the resulting oxymel was half delicious, half really really strong raw garlicky flavour so instead of the traditional tablespoon down the hatch we thought up other ways to use it.. Salad dressing seemed the most popular, just mix with some olive oil and viola! But being winter still I decided to use it another way..

Chicken, Brussel Sprout and Kale Quinoa with Oxymel marinade

  • 1 Cup of Quinoa
  • 1 Chicken Fillet
  • 4 Brussel Sprouts, quartered
  • Handful of Kale, chopped
  • 1 Large Mushroom
  • Chopped Onion
  • Chopped small chilli
  • 5 or so Tbsp of Oxymel

 

(Now I realise not everyone will have oxymel on hand, or the inclination to make the kitchen smell like vinegar and garlic, but you could easily just combine the ingredients in a bowl). Also – if i’d been thinking ahead I would have let the chicken marinate in the oxymel for an hour or so..

Put your quinoa on – whether its in a pot or the rice cooker with 2 cups of water.. for further info on cooking quinoa check out this post..

Saute the onion and chilli, and add the chicken to brown. I added a few tbsps of oxymel at this stage which helped give colour, but the flavour cooked out so save some to add later on.

Toss in the brussel sprouts and cook for a further few minutes, before adding the mushroom and kale.

Once the quinoa is cooked and the vegies are at your preferred level of cookedness add the quinoa to the frypan to soak up any juices.

Season with salt and pepper if required, and feel free to add some fresh oxymel for a stronger flavour! I did!

It was so yummy, and so healthy.. A good serve of vegies, protein, healthy carbs and fats..

Now to try and stay away from my sisters amazing Alternative Chocolate made with coconut oil, raw cocoa, dates and nuts! (Who wants that recipe?!? Me!)

Hope you’re all having a good week.. I have 2 big assignments to finish and as you can see I am procrastinating very well :)

M xx

Leave a Reply

