A birthday dinner fit for… my father..

It was my wonderful fathers birthday on Sunday and after a weekend away my sister and I thought it would be nice to cook them dinner… I was so excited to have an excuse to try some of the wonderful recipes I have found recently and spent all last Sunday cooking – while watching cooking shows on TV. What more could you ask for?

The menu was as follows:

  • Salt & Vinegar Kale Chips
  • Grape Tomatoes with Bocconcini & Basil
  • Baked Cauliflower with Herb Dressing
  • Beans & Snowpeas with Balsamic Glaze
  • Cheesy Quinoa
  • And a Beautiful Free Range Roast Chicken..

I won’t write all the recipes here – most can be found in my Pinterest recipe collection – or please feel free to me ask questions, I’m more than happy to go into detail :)

I have seen Kale chips pop up on Pinterest and in Blogs a lot recently and with a massive bunch in the fridge from the farmers market I thought – what better way to use up some of the tops! It turned out to be easier and more rewarding than I ever thought it would be.. I cut/tore pieces of Kale, washed and dried it, then put it on a plate and drizzled some olive oil and balsamic vinegar over the top.. Then for each piece of kale I rubbed it on the bottom of the plate to coat it, and placed it in a single layer on a baking tray covered with some parchment paper. At this stage a grind of salt is great, and for one batch I even grated some parmesan over the top.

Bake them at around 180C for 20 minutes and viola! The way they crunch and then crumble in your mouth was amazing! We will certainly be making them again! (If you find they start to soften, as we did after a couple of hours, put them back in the oven for a few minutes to refresh them.

The tomatoes were a quick easy bite sized addition which i drizzled with olive oil, having made a partial slit down the middle, and stuffed some fresh bocconcini and a leaf of basil in there.. and the Chicken I seasoned with paprika and sea salt, and stuffed with a lemon & some herbs to infuse with flavour.

The cauliflower could have done with a little more cooking but the sauce was an easy and healthy way to add great flavour – I just took a big handful of herbs (we had coriander, basil and parsley on hand) finely chopped them (or if you have a thermomix, or blender – whizzed them) added lemon juice, and olive oil and it was ready!

The beans and snowpeas were quickly sautéed in a large pan with some olive oil, garlic and balsamic vinegar… It was a really nice way to have a roast chook without the normal roast veggies, and I very much enjoyed making it..

I may have had some fun playing with the camera settings – i promise i’ll be more consistent next time :)

Happy Birthday Dad!!

M xx

4 thoughts on “A birthday dinner fit for… my father..

Leave a Reply

