Kale and Mushroom Pasta

So if anyone went out and bought kale following my soup recipe, you will no doubt have heaps left over like I do!

I have been experimenting this week with ways to incorporate it in my cooking and a here is quick and easy way that I discovered.. I am normally just cooking for myself and I don’t tend to follow recipes so these are the ingredients i used.. If you are struggling with quantities let me know..

Kale and Mushroom Pasta

  • Handful of washed Kale
  • Coconut Oil
  • Crushed Garlic
  • Chopped Onion
  • Mushrooms – whichever variety you like
  • Chilli, fresh or flakes
  • Thyme , fresh or dried
  • Pasta
  • Parmesan – optional
  • Sour Cream – optional

So.. While the water for the pasta was coming to the boil I chopped up my other fresh ingredients. Once the pasta was in, I started to saute the onion, garlic and chilli in coconut oil, then added my mushrooms. You may need to add a dash of water/wine if it is too dry. Depending on how soft you like your mushrooms, gauge how long the pasta will take – if its a 12 minute variety maybe wait a bit before starting this process (it can be done in about 5 minutes, or slowly simmered for a bit longer).

Add in the kale and let it wilt slightly, then for a bit of creaminess i added some Jalna sour cream and grated over some parmesan cheese.. Toss this through the hot, drained pasta and viola! You could add other veggies such as zucchini, broadbeans etc and whichever spices take your fancy..

If you wanted to add more protein to this dish some sliced chicken fillet, or tinned salmon/tuna could be a good addition.. (I didn’t have any on hand however and it was too cold and dark to run down the street to the supermarket)

Quick, easy, healthy and yum :)

M xx

4 thoughts on “Kale and Mushroom Pasta

Leave a Reply

