Potato and Kale Soup with Chorizo.. Mmmmm

 On Saturday morning my sister and I got up early (well 9am), rugged up, and went off to the Gleadel St Market, which for anyone living in or around Richmond should become your Saturday morning ritual.. They block off the street from 6:00am – 1:00pm and farmers set up stalls of fresh fruit and vegetables, flowers, organic breads, nuts and grains and great coffee.. It is always packed with people stocking up on great cheap fresh produce.

We wandered up and down deciding what to buy and where from, and then had a think about what meals we might need for the week. I have recently become addicted to Pinterest as some of you might know, mainly because it gives me a great place to keep track of all the yummy recipes I find online. My task for the week was to make a Portuguese Potato and Kale soup I had found… potatoes were $1 a kilo so I grabbed 4 big Desiree’s, and an onion from one stall, some organic kale ($3) from another and some extra veggies for the week..

Being such a cold day all I needed to do was grab some chorizo (the secret ingredient) and head home to our warm house..

The recipe which I adapted from here was so simple and quick and we have been feasting on it whilst feeling healthy at the same time as kale is chock-full of antioxidants and nutrients.. It is similar to spinach but holds its shape and remains slightly crunchier when cooked..

Portuguese Potato and Kale soup:

Roughly 4 Serves

  • 4 Potatoes – sliced
  • ½ Onion – chopped finely
  • 2 cloves of Garlic – chopped or minced
  • 1 bunch of Kale – I used a few good handfuls
  • 500ml Vegetable Stock
  • 500ml Water
  • 1 Chorizo Sausage, thinly sliced (you could certainly use more – I only had enough change on me for 1!)
  • Olive oil

See – easy! So few ingredients!

Chop up the onion and garlic and simmer it in a nice big soup pot with some olive oil. Once its softened add in the chopped potato and stir for a few minutes. Pour in the veggie stock and water and allow to cook for 20 minutes or until the potatoes are soft.

Meanwhile, chop up the chorizo and fry for 10 minutes to release the excess fat. I quartered mine following this photo for small bite size pieces..

Mash the potato roughly, or puree it in a blender/thermomix and stir through the chorizo and kale, allowing it to cook for a further 5 minutes.

I let mine simmer longer to infuse the smoked chorizo flavour and planned to freeze some for dinners.. it was too tasty however and my sister and I ate a bowl each last night and tonight! Where is the photo of the finished product you ask?? um.. in my tummy sorry!

I hope you enjoy it.. let me know if you try it and any modifications you make..

:)

Miranda

8 thoughts on “Potato and Kale Soup with Chorizo.. Mmmmm

  1. Lollerskater says:

    It sounds delicious in theory, but I’ve never tried kale. When you say it is similar to spinach, I’m assuming you mean the taste? I do love potato and chorizo so surely can’t go wrong!

Leave a Reply

